Okay, so you know what you can’t eat, but what can you eat? You can probably eat yogurt. Yes, I know this topic has been debated thoroughly, but according to All You Want to Know About Yogurt!, thanks to the “live active cultures” in yogurt, it is digestible by lactose intolerant people. I’ve experimented with this, and I have no trouble digesting it without any of my normal intolerance side effects. I don’t even get canker sores, which I get from other dairy products even if I take a lactase supplement with them. So, as long as you’re lactose intolerant and not allergic to dairy products, I think yogurt is probably the best natural calcium source available easily in your local grocery store.
You can eat semi-sweet chocolate chips and dark chocolate, as long as they don’t have added dairy products like whey or butter. Two brands I’ve used which do not have lactose in them are Baker’s and Log House semi-sweet chocolate chips. Ghirardelli’s dark chocolate is also dairy free. Hershey’s Cocoa and Syrup are dairy free.
A great substitute for ice cream is sorbet. It is a water (as opposed to dairy) based frozen dessert. Most sorbets (like Ben and Jerry’s) are even fat free and cholesterol free. Yum! Ben and Jerry’s sorbet is one option, but Haagen Dazs (you can also read their page in Japanese) and other frozen dessert companies market it as well. Way to go! A big Non-Dairy THANK YOU from the lactose intolerant community!
Parve foods do not contain dairy products. This is one type of kosher label. Other kosher symbols to look for on packaging include a U in a circle, a K with leaves above and below, and a K in a triangle; these foods may or may not have dairy in them–read the label. Sometimes these symbols have a D by them, which means they definitely do have dairy in them. If there are no dairy ingredients listed and you see one of these symbols, you’re probably safe. To be sure, look for the word parve on the label. Chances are you never noticed these little letters before, but they can really help you out at the grocery store.
Public Service Announcement: Eggs do NOT contain lactose, and neither do potatoes. I receive an OBSCENE amount of email from people who think eggs are a dairy product. Eggs are just chickens, and potatoes are just potatoes! Okay? Okay. Thank you for your attention.
10 Responses to “Eat this- foods you can eat without having symptoms.”
Leave a Reply
Disclaimer: No medical doctor has reviewed the contents of this website/ blog. This website/blog was development for the purpose of providing a central place for lactose intolerant individuals to come to share basic information and personal insight. It is advised that you check with your physician or medical advisor before acting upon anything learned from this site.